WhatsApp for Android Locally Retains Contact Info After Their Deletion

WhatsApp for Android locally retains contact information after those contacts have been deleted, which allows threat actors with physical access to the device to check whether the user had any interactions with the particular contacts, even if they got deleted.

This is possible due to the WhatsApp retaining the information about the security code changes, when deleting the contact. The chat history, however, is deleted.

To prevent this vulnerability, you need to press the 'Clear chat' button before deleting the contact.

Read more...

Read More

Got Something To Say?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *